Home > Side Dishes, Vegetarian > Sweet(ass) Potato Fries

Sweet(ass) Potato Fries


[tweetmeme https://localfoodrocks.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/sweetass-potato-fries/%5D

The more I cook, the more I find myself using less seasoning when I cook. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a spice drawer that is slowly overtaking my kitchen (Thank you Penzeys). Salt, pepper, and oil olive have now become my taste bud trinity. This recipe is no exception. Now you could get crazy and add other types of seasoning like curry or a little cayenne for some kick. But sometimes simple is good.

I like this recipe since you can do them in the oven or on the grill. My kids eat them up like regular fries and I appreciate how easy they are to make. When selecting the potatoes, try to get ones that are symmetrical as they are easier to cut up and make for more uniform looking fries.

Sweet Potato Fries

Serves 5

3 large sweet potatoes
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons kosher salt
1 tablespoon freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Wash and peel the potatoes. Cut in half and once again and then cut into strips, like steak fry size. Place on large cookies sheet. Drizzle oil over the potatoes and using your hands toss the potatoes so they are covered in oil. Sprinkle salt and pepper evenly over the fries. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Sweet Potato Fries and a Black Bean Burger

Sweet Potato Fries and a Black Bean Burger

FaceTweet it!

  1. britak@skinnymommy.com
    May 17, 2011 at 8:46 am

    I can’t wait to try these! I love green bean fries too!

  2. May 17, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Ohhh, green beans fries! One of my fav restaurants makes them…soooo good!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

