Home > Beverages and misc, Vegetarian > Apple-Cinnamon Crumb Cake Muffins

Apple-Cinnamon Crumb Cake Muffins


[tweetmeme https://localfoodrocks.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/apple-cinnamon-crumb-cake-muffins/%5D
The longer I cook, the more often I find myself eye-balling measurements of ingredients. It’s not that I see myself as this awesome ninja chef with some mad cooking skills. The truth is I hate doing dishes and I figure the less I have to wash, the better. However, one arena of cooking where I don’t throw caution to the wind is when I bake. The balance of ingredients like baking soda, baking powder and salt can really cause culinary chaos when your ratios are off. So you can imagine my dork-like excitement when I opened up one of my Christmas gifts to find new measuring spoons and cups. But these were just no ordinary measuring devices…they were magnetic!

The magic of these measurement devices is that they have a spoon on each end and you only need to wash the spoon you use and you get two uses out of each spoon.  And with their magnetic-ability they stay together when you need them to and apart when you don’t.  It’s genius if you ask me.  So when making this new recipe for Apple-Cinnamon Crumb Cake Muffins, I busted out both the spoons and the cups.

These small but fluffy muffins are so light and airy, I will warn you: it is possible to consume more than one at a time. Since they are not huge, it’s a great size for the kids. I am not a big fan of super sweet breakfast pastries, as these are perfectly balanced with not being too sweet. The apple adds a fun taste for the buds and keeps them from drying out (I HATE the word *moist*).  These are based on a recipe from Isa Chandra’s Vegan with a Vengeance cookbook. You may notice the lack of eggs (as they are based off a vegan recipe) but you would never know the are eggless.  In my opinion Isa has mastered the art of baking without dairy and eggs.  Try them and you will not be disappointed.

Apple-Cinnamon Crumb Cake Muffins

For Muffins:
1 1/2 cups flour
1/4 cup plus 2 Tbs sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup apple juice
1/3 cup canola oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup grated apple
1/2 cup chopped apple (1/4 inch pieces)

For topping:
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground allspice
Pinch of salt
2 Tbs canola oil

Prepare the topping by mixing all the dry topping ingredients together in a small bowl. Drizzle the oil while mixing with your fingertips until crumbs form. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease a 12 – muffin tin.

In a large mixing bowl, mix together all the dry muffin ingredients. Create a well in the center and add the apple juice, oil, and vanilla. Mix, then fold in the grated and chopped apple.

Fill each muffin cup 2/3 full. Sprinkle the crumb topping over each muffin. Bake for 20-22 minutes.

 

FaceTweet it!

  1. February 8, 2011 at 11:10 am

    I have to leave a comment so I can come back to this recipe. Thanks!

  2. February 8, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I’ve made those muffins before. They are delicious! And I agree, it is way too easy to eat more than one of them.

  3. February 8, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Emmy, this was my first time making them (but certainly won’t be our last!). The kids helped and it was a great way to spend doing something productive during our recent snowstorm. I cut back some of the oil and they still turned out great.

  4. Carol
    February 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    I just made these. So good! Thanks for the great recipe.

  5. February 24, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    You are welcome Carol…I could eat these all the time and love that they are ingredients I pretty much always have on hand.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

