Home > Appetizers, Beverages and misc, Vegetarian > Cherry Tomato Pesto – Fresh and Freezer-worthy

Cherry Tomato Pesto – Fresh and Freezer-worthy


Like This!

[tweetmeme https://localfoodrocks.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/cherry-tomato-pesto-fresh-and-freezer-worthy/%5D

I’m taking a walk down memory lane today…and through my stroll I am encountering little,  glossy red, ball-shaped fruit that started it all. Started what you ask?  This is the recipe that made my decision to launch What I Ate For Dinner.  After telling friends and family what I cooked,  I kept getting requests like, “Oh, that sounds good, can you email me the recipe?”  Ya, I could…but after a while I spent a decent amount of time sending emails or writing it down for people.  I love my family and friends and all, but it seemed like a waste of time repeating myself.

So humor aside for once, I want to really thank everyone who has read, commented and just somewhat paid random attention to my culinary quips, savory stories and recipes.  Special thanks go to Dave and my kids, who have put up with me putting dinner on pause some nights, because I had to get a good picture of what we were about to eat.  It does make me giggle when I cook something and one of the kids ask, “Is this going to go in your blog?”

I wasn’t quite sure how this little blog would turn out and hopefully my passion for food and cooking have translated into not only a creative outlet for me, but provided you with some good eats along the way.

So I will stop blathering on and give you a really great recipe that I make for Cherry Tomato Pesto.  This is perfect if you have  a million cherry tomatoes you don’t know what to do with.  I use this rich sauce mainly on ravioli.  It also makes a yummy app when you pour some into a baking dish and add some goat cheese and heat till bubbly.  Smear some of it on a sliced french bread pieces and oh, yum.  And one of the best parts is that you can freeze it to enjoy all year ’round. 

Cherry Tomato Pesto

Makes roughly 1 1/2 – 2 Cups

Take two pounds or so of cherry tomatoes and halve them and put them in a 9 x 12 pyrex baking dish. Add 6 cloves of crushed garlic, sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Drizzle 1/2 cup olive oil and sprinkle with 2 tablespoons fresh thyme. Bake uncovered in a 250 degree oven for 2 1/2 – 3 hours or until edges are a little charred, stirring every now and then. Cool.

Take the tomato mixture and add it to a food processor and add:
– 1/4 cup pine nuts
– 1/4 cup fresh basil

Blend and add more olive oil to you liking of the consistency. You can use roma tomatoes for this as well, just cut to a smaller size.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Scott
    September 3, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Excellent Karen. Thank you!

    • September 4, 2010 at 7:22 am

      Scott

      This is one of my favorite ways to use cherry tomatoes…I like that there are only a few ingredients and it’s easy. I need to find more ways to use it. Ideas?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

