Home > Appetizers, Side Dishes, Vegetarian > Google Arugula (Say that three times really fast)

Google Arugula (Say that three times really fast)


It’s  been a typical Chicago season change this week. We went from winter, caught a glimpse of spring and shot straight to summer.  I was going to blog about a great asparagus soup I made before it got hot and humid, but that may have to wait until next week, when I am sure the weather will be like 50 degrees, cloudy and rainy.

This was my first year growing arugula in my garden and it’s done a fabby job of getting bigger each day.  Then I realized, “What am I going to do with all of this?  I don’t have any arugula recipes”.  Frantically, like any person who has internet access and free time,  I sent the query to my Facebook and Twitter pals.  Turns out, not many people know what to do with it besides make a salad.  Second stop, my cookbook/magazine collection.  Even though I like trolling the internet for recipes, I enjoy sitting down and searching through my cookbooks that I trust and finding a hidden gem.  I found some good candidates, but nothing I was happy with.  So, I went back online to Epicurious my standard recipe finder site.  I really like it because it has reviews so you can see all the ins and outs before attempting a new culinary adventure.  I was glad to come across a recipe right away, so I would  not have to resort to my last ditch effort..Google arugula.

I came across a recipe for Arugula and Fava Bean Crostini.  It was the perfect springtime use for my new garden friend.  I did substitute edamame for the fava beans and did not use the mint; it was a great addition to our first outdoor meal of the season.  This would make a terrific appetizer as it is it light and was bursting with fresh flavors.  I think after I ate about five slices,  I was almost bursting as well.

Do you have a favorite use for arugula? Please share yours,  as I have a lot left in my garden and so others can get ideas for this  peppery plant.

  1. Evelyn
    May 27, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I made this today and my husband and I LOVED it! I too, used the edamame, and skipped the mint. Next time, I will use half the recommended portion of the chopped arugula that is folded in at the end as I like things a little milder and it was a little too peppery for me, but my husband loved it as is. Overall, it was quite flavorful and plan on making it again soon. Thanks!

  2. June 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Evelyn,

    Glad you liked it as well…I want to try it with the fava beans and mint and see if there is a big difference or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

