Home > Appetizers, Main Courses, Vegetarian > Not Your Pizza in 30 Minutes, More Like 3 Years…Asparagus & Goat Cheese Pizza

Not Your Pizza in 30 Minutes, More Like 3 Years…Asparagus & Goat Cheese Pizza


It’s been three long years of waiting, hoping and dreaming.  Now I know you are wondering…”What in the culinary world is Karen waiting for?”  It is located in my backyard, a cyclone fenced corner of edible promise.  It’s spring and yes, this year I have asparagus growing.  Now for those of you who don’t garden,  (First of all, why aren’t you gardening?  It’s an awesome stress reliever and it’s a super way to eat mighty tasty local food.) you might be wondering why three years is necessary.  Let me tell you.  Apparently asparagus does its best and tastes delicious when you harvest it in year three.  So this is how it went down.

Year One (Spring 2008) –   Planted asparagus crowns.  Okay, now I just sit and wait for a few years?   Hmm.  Was slightly bitter that I was planting something I couldn’t eat in the same season, as I am a person that needs that immediate return.

Year Two (2009) – Getting very antsy, just want to eat the buggers, but can’t.  Sigh.  Watched them grow tall and be very fern-like.  Next year, Karen.  Next year it will be worth it.

Year Three (2010) – In March I swear anytime I was outside I walked down to the corner of my yard to check on the progress.  In April they started poking their little phallic-like heads out of the ground…I got giddy.  And now in May, we are finally enjoying them, and boy are they sensational!

So with my new bounty I found a yummy new way to try these green gems…Asparagus, Fingerling Potato, and Goat Cheese Pizza.

I made this for my daughter’s family birthday party and went over pretty well.  Even my mom, who thinks the idea of a non-traditional pizza is a BBQ chicken pizza, gave it two thumbs up.   You could eat it as a meal, or it can also make a delish appetizer.   I made it per the recipe, but I used my standard pizza dough recipe instead.

So when you go to the farmers’ market and you see asparagus on the table and the higher price tag…remember it takes time to grow these beauties.  Try growing your own!  I now feel smug in knowing that every year for like the next 10-15 years I can count on harvesting these tender treats every spring.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

