Home > Desserts, Main Courses, Vegetarian > Sorry I have been away…will cookies make things better?

Sorry I have been away…will cookies make things better?


First of all, sorry I have been on recipe hiatus the past month.  It was not intentional, but the result of being spontaneously busy at my own business,  Sparkfire Marketing (intentionally not making it a link since my website rebuild is almost done, old site is just hugely blah).   Also, we had our kitchen torn apart for a while due to the addition of fabulous new flooring.  I bet I can safely say that I was one of the last few people in, geez anywhere, that had red indoor/outdoor carpeting in my kitchen.  In retrospect it was a good break to recharge my cooking spirit and try some new recipes.

My cookies actually looked like the picture in the recipe...Success!

For a while now I have struggled to find a really good oatmeal raisin cookie recipe.  I have tried many and either they were too dry, too moist or just tasted like oatmeal covered cardboard.  I wanted a wham-bam recipe that was in the same league as my chocolate chip cookie recipe (maybe later in the spring I’ll put that recipe in a post).  Well, I found my recipe.  Oddly enough, in Vegetarian Times magazine.  I think what makes these cookie killer is:
1.) icing, ohhh icing.
2.) a perfect chewy, crispy texture
3.) they taste awesome (and really different) both warm and at room temperature.

What I found also really cool about this recipe, is that it is vegan – no animal products in it whatsoever.  Although I admit I did alter some of the ingredients as I did not have certain items on hand.  Here are my alterations as follows:

– I did not use flax seed meal, I used one egg instead

– Used regular flour instead of oat flour

– Instead of applesauce I just doubled the amount of Earth Balance (or butter if you please)

– I only chilled the dough for 1 hour (we just couldn’t wait!)

The recipe states it makes 24 cookies, I am not so sure about that.  We made ours smaller than golf ball size and we had only 21 cookies.  Double the recipe and you won’t be disappointed.  Okay, now I am REALLY jonesin’ for a cookie…I hope there are some still left!

  1. Jeannine
    April 27, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Just mixed up a double batch of this dough — it’s chilling now. I substituted all-purpose flour for half of the oat flour and used half steel cut oats instead of rolled (just using what I had on hand). I also used real organic butter instead of margarine. And chocolate chips instead of dried fruit. Can’t wait to see how they turn out! Thanks for the recipe and the inspiration to bake this afternoon. I’ll bake them right when the kids are getting home from school. Very fun!

    Glad you enjoyed your blogging break. Look forward to reading more of your posts soon.

  2. April 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Jeannine, let me know how the chocolate oatmeal cookies turn out, as they sound delicious! Did you use the flax in them? I want to make this recipe once with all the ingredients listed and see if there is a difference.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

