Home > Main Courses > Pasta la Vista, Winter Weather

Pasta la Vista, Winter Weather


It’s been a busy few weeks at the Rocks’ household, as you can see with my minimal blogging.  And honestly, I have been cooking meals I have already blogged about, so you weren’t missing out on anything.  I, like most Chicago area residents am in a winter weather funk.  I am so close to taking all my winter sweaters, coats and any apparel that covers up my neck, put them in a pile and douse with kerosene and up watch them go up in flames.  Too bad I would have no idea where to get kerosene.

My cooking has suffered from this malaise  as well.  I’m in a rut.  I am THIS close to jumping in the Hot Tub Time Machine and going back to at least earlier in the season when all the tastes were fresh and new.  If I eat another soup, stew or roast, I will have to turn in my Wagner ware and check into Le Creuset rehab.

Every week when planning out the week’s meals, I ask my husband what sounds good.  This  past week I got a new response…Pasta Carbonara.  Apparently he heard someone discussing it on NPR and touted how it was fast and easy.  The way our weeks have been, fast and easy when cooking a meal are the two words that worked for me.

Pasta Carbonara  adapted from the Frugal Gourmet
Serves 2 adults, 3 kids

1/4 Pound  Pancetta — chopped
1 lb Penne pasta 
1 Tbs butter
1 medium onion, sliced

4 Eggs — beaten
1/3  Cup  Parmesan cheese — grated
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Saute pancetta until crispy. Remove pancetta from pan and add butter to fat in pan.  Add onions cover and cook on low heat until carmelized, about 15 minutes, stirring every now and then.  While onion is cooking, boil water and cook pasta per package directions.  When pasta and onion are done, drain the pasta  and add  pancetta, onions, eggs, cheese, and pepper. Cook over very low heat for 1 minute, stirring constantly.   Serve immediately.

  1. Jeannine
    March 2, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Karen, Picked up the ingredients for this today. I think Ryan and the kids will LOVE it (I’ll make my plate veg.) and it will cook up fast after gymnastics class tomorrow with a side of steamed green beans. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  2. March 2, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Jeannine,
    I hope they will like it – it went 3/3 for my kids, which rarely happens. Let me know how it turns out.

  3. Jeannine
    March 10, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Made this last week. Ryan and Finn loved it. Ella and Sean not so much. I thought it was like fried rice with pasta as I was cooking it. Will try it again for a quick dinner for the family.

  4. March 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Jeannine, thanks for the feedback. I really understand the challenge in trying to please all five members of a family. I am happy when half of them like it. Please share any of your 5/5er recipes, I always am trying new ones.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

