Home > Main Courses, Vegetarian > Kale to the Chief (of Veggies) – Barley Stew with Leeks, Mushrooms, and Kale

Kale to the Chief (of Veggies) – Barley Stew with Leeks, Mushrooms, and Kale


It’s been an off-week at the Rocks’ household. 

Monday:  I had a good day and was all excited for dinner – Lemon Sole w/Sautéed Greens and Roasted Beets.  Simple and tasty.  However, upon opening up the fish I realized dinner would be not be the dining experience I was hoping for.  I grew up fishing and have been around my fair share of fish.  This fish I had opened up was the most rank, foul-smelling, beyond fishy smell I have ever been around.  After abusing the noses of myself and my very vocal children, a decision was made.   Out for Mexican.

Tuesday:  After going out for dinner on Monday we got home and flipped on Good Eats with Alton Brown.  While I could do without the cheesy acting, I do like Alton’s recipes and the science of cooking.  He had on a very simple recipe for salmon.  I had some sockeye in the freezer and decided to have Jaws II on the menu for Tuesday.  Let’s just say after putting the fish under the broiler, it got a little over-carmelized.  It was still edible, but Alton would not have been pleased.

Wednesday:  On the menu – leftovers.  I hate leftovers, but restaurant leftovers from Monday were there, so I was fine.  However, why do restaurant leftovers taste better than homemade leftovers?  Is it just me?   

Thursday:  Finally a meal that comes together…a new recipe from Bon Appetit (Dec 09).   Barley Stew with Leeks, Mushrooms, and Kale really hit the spot.  I have been on a kale binge lately, in trying to eat with the season.  The kids really liked the barley too. so it was a good all-skate dish.  I love the nutty taste of the kale (I used Tuscan kale), along with the heartiness of the barley and mushrooms.  And if you are into that kind of thing, kale has one of the highest levels of antioxidants of any vegetable.  Easy and simple and didn’t involve fish – I was pleased.  I would give it a 8/10.

*Did anyone make the Sweet Onion Beggar’s Purses for New Year’s Eve?  I promised to follow up with you on my adventure cooking them for  New Year’s Eve.  Overall they were quite tasty, however I think you would max out at eating only 2-3 per person.  I gave up tying the chives around after baking, for once you took off the string, they held fine together on their own.  I would highly recommend these for a formal dinner party or if you are looking for a savory bite that will stand out in an appetizer line-up.

  1. Oriana
    January 8, 2010 at 9:37 am

    hi, if anyone wants to read a post that focuses on tuscan kale, I just put one up with the tuscan kale and sausage recipe: http://ow.ly/U8Wp

  2. Saly
    January 8, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Planned on trying the purses at a wine party we’re co-hosting in February. I’m picking up ingredients for my “trial” today. Will let you know how it goes!

  3. January 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Saly, how fun! They would pair very well with wine – a red of some sort. Keep me posted on how it went.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

