Home > Main Courses, Vegetarian > Ladle up Some Lovin’… Potato Kale Soup

Ladle up Some Lovin’… Potato Kale Soup


I’ve been starting to challenge myself lately in the kitchen.  No, it’s not like Iron Chef or anything (although I do dig the guy that bites into the red pepper!).   I found myself with a bag of kale in the fridge that was supposed to be used for my Butternut Squash and Cheddar Bread Pudding recipe, but I got sick and it never got made.  I have never used kale in any other recipes before, so to not waste it, I thought I should find a good use for the green earthy veggie.  Soup sounded good, so I found a Mark Bittman recipe for Potato Kale Soup.  

I know, it looks a little murky, but tastes great.

For not using many ingredients, it surprisingly had superb flavor and was enjoyed by all.  It was also nice to have soup that was a little different.  With the cold weather here, we eat soup around once a week, so variety is really appreciated in our household.   

Potato Kale Soup (Serves five)

5 large baking potatoes, cut in eights
3 cloves garlic, smashed
6 cups vegetable stock (can use other types of stock,  I use veggie)
3-4 cups of roughly chopped kale (stripped from stalks)
1 teaspoon dried marjoram or oregano (can use fresh too, just use 2 teaspoons)
2 bay leaves

Combine the potato, garlic and 3 cups of the stock in a pot and heat on med-high heat.  Cook until the potato is soft, about 15 minutes or so.  At the same time, cook the kale in the remaining stock with the marjoram and bay leaf until tender, about 10 minutes.  Remove the bay leaves.  Puree the potato mixture and then add the kale to the soup.  Season with salt and pepper.

  1. Lisa
    December 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Kale is one of our favorites thanks to the farmer’s market co-op mystery veggie adventure. It’s fantastic in bean soups plus our turtle loves it!

  2. December 10, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I am just starting to experiment with kale. It’s got a hint of nuttiness and good overall taste. I am surprised there isn’t more hoopla about it…apparently your turtle is on to something!

  3. January 11, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I made something very similar, using kale and potatoes from a CSA. I have never used kale before I joined the CSA and adds nutritional punch to any recipe! I added some turmeric to my soup for a different spice. I also like to chop it up, mix with a bit of salt, peppper, and olive oil, and put it in the oven for 10 minutes or so for some crispy kale…

    • January 12, 2010 at 10:52 am

      Crispy kale in soup sounds lip-smackin’! I’ve heard a lot about kale chips recently, I think I will have to try that soon. Thanks for commenting – I always love to hear what others are cooking. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

