Home > Main Courses, Vegetarian > For the Ladies…Pad Thai You Really CAN Make at Home!

For the Ladies…Pad Thai You Really CAN Make at Home!


pad thai - plated

Is Pad Thai a chick dish?  It seems every woman I know loves Pad Thai, but guys seem less likely to say it’s a dish they love.  Maybe it’s more manly to say they like General Tso’s chicken, I don’t know.  I have always been rather skittish of cooking asian/eastern world cuisine.  Sometimes it’s just easier to order out a #12 minus the MSG and call it a day. 

In an effort to clean out my freezer, I came across about  1/2 pound of shrimp.  The wheels in my semi-crazed mind

Emergency alternative dinner for the lil' non-Pad Thai lovers

were turning and trying to find a way to make a meal out this buried-in-my-freezer treasure.  I came across a recipe for Pad Thai and thought “Why not, the kids love noodles”.   Well they did end up eating a different kind of noodles after they tried the final product.

Dave and I liked it, with of course me being a little more vocal about it.  The one negative about it, which is easily rectified, is that the noodles were a little too tough, even after being soaked in the water longer than suggested.  The kids found it to be too spicy, I don’t think they are fans of ginger, which really shines through.  If you are having a taste for Pad Thai, this definitely works and adaptable for your tastes, as this could work well with chicken or even no meat at all.  I would give this recipe a 7/10. 
 
 
  1. Anonymous
    December 3, 2009 at 10:44 am

    OH, I’m going to look forward to trying this. My oldest LOVES Pad Thai (me too!)…although usually the homemade variety is less well loved than his favorite takeout. Always glad for another good dinner idea….

    • December 4, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      Hope you and your oldest enjoy it….the leftovers taste pretty darn good too! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

