Home > Main Courses, Vegetarian > When all Else Fails…Cream of Celery Soup

When all Else Fails…Cream of Celery Soup


immersion

Stylish blending right in your own kitchen!

It finally happened.  This hasn’t happened in a long time.  A red light started flashing, a siren sounded.  “Abandon Ship, Abandon Ship” barked in a stern, repetitive way, audible only to me.   I was cooking a new recipe and it just didn’t look or taste good.  After making a pathetic and bland ragu, I kept looking at the clock.  “If I stop now, I can still make something else…ohhh what do I do?” 

After a quick once over of what I had in the fridge and pantry, I decided to go with a quick and easy recipe for Cream of Celery Soup.  I knew it wouldn’t take long, as I didn’t have a lot of time to spare as the natives were getting restless, exercising their tribal chant of “When’s dinner?”  Twenty-five minutes later (the approximate length of Hannah Montana CD), dinner was served, along with some tasty cheese bread I had picked up the day before at Whole Foods.  Dinner was served, and saved.

A big thank you goes out to a few of my readers who recommended an immersion blender.  A few weeks ago I picked up a nice red Cuisinart one at Sur La Table (French for “I Want That!”) for a steal.  This fine tool made blending soup right in the pan a breeze and spared me the transfer of flaming hot liquid to blender process.  My kitchen cabinets and I thank you.

Cream of Celery Soup, Moosewood version

  • 4 cups Celery; in 1″ chunks
  • 3 cups Potatoes; in 1″ chunks
  • 3 cups Water
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 cup Minced onion
  • 1 cup Celery; very finely minced
  • 1 tsp Celery seeds
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2 tb Butter
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream, half and half or heavy cream
  • White pepper; to taste

Bring celery and potato chunks, water, and salt to a boil in a saucepan. Cook, covered, until soft, about 15 minutes. Puree in blender and return to pan (or use a handy immersion blender in pan).  While simmering, saute onion, celery and celery seed with salt in butter until browned.   Add to first mixture.  Add milk, sour or heavy cream and white pepper into soup about 10 minutes before serving.

  1. Carrie
    November 19, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I have been looking for a good immersion blender that won’t cost and arm and a leg and will hold up. I find they are either really cheap (and likely not good output) or crazy pricey. So you are happy with your choice?

    • November 19, 2009 at 10:38 am

      Carrie, I have always liked Cuisinart products and this one seems to be well worth it so far. The one I have has only one speed, but so far that hasn’t been an issue. Granted I have only used it a few times, but for $30 it is worth it for the multitude of uses. I have seen no-name cheapies out there for the same price, so at least I am getting a brand I trust. And I just ADORE the fun colors they come in…I went with the pomegrante red. Hope this helps. =)

  1. June 2, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

