Home > Main Courses, Side Dishes, Vegetarian > Zinfandel-Braised Beef Short Ribs w/Rosemary Parsnip Mashed Potatoes

Zinfandel-Braised Beef Short Ribs w/Rosemary Parsnip Mashed Potatoes


Do you ever think from time to time, what you would take from your house, if it was on fire?  Aside from my family and dogs, really high on my list would be my binder of recipes.  It is a patchwork of pages of recipes from family members, friends, magazines, TV shows and websites.  I love the feel of it, all of the history and memories of meals it contains.  It is not the actual recipes that I think are important, it is the memories of each meal, from the first time time cooked, to the twentieth. wagner ware

Another item in my kitchen that contains memories, is a cooking pot that was Dave’s grandmother’s.  It is a slightly unique vessel  made by Wagner Ware made of thick shiny aluminum that reminds me of an old time zeppelin.    I am not sure of how they are constructed now, but one that is 50+ years old sure has withstood time and temperature.   In addition to meals, it also was used in canning, a tradition that Dave carries on today.   I can only guess at how many meals his grandmother cooked in this pot and how it gives me feelings of joy that it will be passed down to one of our children. 

A fantastic meal that goes from the stove top to oven in a pot like this is Zinfandel-Braised Beef Short Ribs w/Rosemary Parsnip Mashed Potatoes.  I have made short rib recipes before, but this one stood out to me, mainly because I have several bags worth of parsnips to use.   But after cooking this for the first time, this recipe stood out for its incredible taste.  It made a wonderful Saturday night meal and I would have to give this a 10/10 (restaurant worthy).

 

parsnips and onions

zinfandel-braised short ribs w/rosemary parsnip mashed potatoes

One key to making the meat really shine is to make sure you give the meat enough time to brown, searing it well on all four sides.  For the potatoes, I cut the amount of butter in half, as it seemed like a lot.  The family really enjoyed this meal, especially my oldest who was my little sous chef.   She took pride in helping cook the meal and we had a lovely afternoon in the kitchen, just the two of us.   Recipes and cookware can serve us up more than just a great meal, they can also nourish us with great memories as well.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

