Home > Beverages and misc, Vegetarian > Pumpkin Oatmeal to Pecan Beer…What I DIDN’T have for dinner

Pumpkin Oatmeal to Pecan Beer…What I DIDN’T have for dinner


Usually my blogs entries have been about dinner, and that’s fine and all.   But today I had an autumnal overflow of food beside dinner, so I thought it was worthy of a post.  I started the rainy morning with a variation of a recipe for pumpkin oatmeal.  I will NOT share a photo of this meal, mainly because it looks like something my dog would generously share with me after some bad kibble.  Esthetics aside, it was a great breakfast with some freshly brewed coffee.  While eating the oatmeal, pumpkiny goodness was still on your taste buds while sipping the coffee…taste combo was insane. 

This recipe serves 2
Pumpkin Oatmeal
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1 cup milk or soy milk
1 cup water
1 cup rolled oats (not instant, old fashioned is good)
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (or use 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4  tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/8tsp nutmeg)
2 Tbs brown sugar
2 Tbs pecan or walnuts (optional)

In a medium saucepan, heat water, milk and oats to a boil.  Boil for 5 minutes.  Add pumpkin, spice(s) and brown sugar.  Top with nuts.  **For those with a crazy-ass pantry like mine, I like to cut the brown sugar to 1 1/2 Tbs and use the extra 1/2 Tbs with Turbinado sugar, for a little sumpthin, sumpthin.

pecan_abitaAfter that breakfast, the appeal of going to the gym to work out lost its luster.  I had a very busy day ahead, so I figured gym and I will cross paths again another day.   For dinner, going out and having someone else cook and clean sounded pretty good to me, so we went to a local, family owned place called Barley House.  Dave and I enjoy a good brew, and they have a ton on tap.  If you have read my previous posts, you understand my love of Abita beer.  I found they have a new seasonal out…Pecan Harvest Ale.  Wow.  All I have to say is wow.  For those of you who need a comparison, I found it similar to Bass, but with a little pecan flavor.  Truly the taste of fall was in my pint.  Perfect bookends to a wonderful autumn day.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

