Home > Main Courses, Side Dishes, Vegetarian > Honey, I Crusted the Walleye and Squashed the Cheddar Bread Pudding

Honey, I Crusted the Walleye and Squashed the Cheddar Bread Pudding


Honey -  in bear and non-bear form

Honey - in bear and non-bear form

I am an avid reader of non-fiction, especially related to food and the environment.  Just now, folks are realizing how much the two are intertwined and an avalanche of books on the topic are widely available.  This past summer, due to a recent fascination with bees, I swarmed over a book called Fruitless Fall: The Collapse of the Honey Bee and the Coming Agricultural Crisis by Rowan Jacobsen.  The whole hierarchy of the bee hive is truly captivating and a bit like a soap opera.  Walking away from the book, I came to appreciate true 100% honey and made sure what I bought was local.

So, when it came time to make some honey crusted walleye, I was content in the fact that my honey was made in my county.  This is Dave’s recipe that he found in a fishing magazine.  He cooks this and the kids love it…because what kid doesn’t like sugar all over their crispy fish? 

honey crusted walleye and butternut squash cheddar bread pudding

Honey Crusted Walleye
1 egg
1 Tbs honey
1 cup panko or coarsely crushed saltines
1/3 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
4 walleye or perch fillet, skin removed
vegetable oil, additional honey for drizzling on top, lemon and lime slices

In a small bowl, beat egg and honey.  In another bowl combine panko, flour, salt, pepper.  Dip fillets into egg mixture, then coat with crumb mixture.  In a large skillet heat 1/4 inch of oil and fry over medium high heat for 3-4 minutes on each side or until easily flaked.  Drain on paper towels and drizzle with additional honey and garnish with lemon and lime slices.

Picked up some more butternut squash this week, for I was curious to try Butternut Squash & Cheddar Bread Pudding that appeared in November’s Bon Appetit.  The squash added some heft, the kale added a little nuttiness and of course cheddar cheese makes everything better.  I gave it a 7/10, but Dave was mighty impressed and gave it a 8.5-9.  After a brief discussion, the dish was voted to be Thanksgiving table worthy.  In our family, that says a lot.

butternut squash and cheddar bread pudding

For those of you interested in my strange book obsession, I am currently reading The Face on Your Plate: The Truth About Food by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson.  I do eat meat, although I am certainly eating less of it after halfway through this book.  We’ll see how things go when I get to the end. 

  1. Saly
    October 14, 2009 at 11:27 am

    That meal looks fabulous…and I’m sure it tasted the same. Dave, you are a lucky man!

  2. karenrocks
    October 14, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks Saly…although Dave did cook the fish, so I give him props for a job well done. He is the fish cooker in the house.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

