Home > Side Dishes, Vegetarian > You Have a Friend Request: The Parsnip

You Have a Friend Request: The Parsnip


If there is anyone out there who does PR for vegetables(aside from Paris Hilton’s rep), I think you need180px-Parsnips-1 a new client…the parsnip.  I would consider the parsnip to be a quiet relative of the carrot.  Just as they are, they are okay, but when you roast them, they develop a personality all their own.  Kind of like that one friend you have…kind of quiet, but when they are in their element, they are fun and their true personality comes out.  Last fall I discovered the parsnip at my local farmers market.  A parsnip is like a white carrot with a somewhat earthy flavor.  When roasted, they become divine,  I bought them, sliced them and roasted them in the oven, along with some carrots and sweet potatoes. 

My two-year old, the same height as the parsnip!

My two-year old, the same height as the parsnip!

Knowing the awesome taste factor, I grew parsnips in the garden this year.  Since it is a root vegetable,I planted them near my carrots, not realizing that the tops would grow over 2 feet tall.  With this new knowledge, next year they will rotate to the back of my garden, as not to shadow my carrots as they did. 

I picked my carrots a couple of weeks ago, but parsnips are a little different in the fact that you really should wait until AFTER the first frost to pick them, as the frost helps develop their flavor. 

Living in the Chicago area, you are programmed to know the weather is as unpredictable as the Cubs, but one thing that has gotten me excited by this colder-than-average Chicago area weather…it’s parsnip pickin’ time!  So I after I picked some bad boys out of the garden, I defrosted a chicken from one of my fav local farms (Open Range Products).  Roast chicken with roasted root vegetables made the menu board.   On a colder day, this meal warmed the whole family up.  Now what do with the leftover chicken, as you know I don’t waste anything? I am thinking of a reader’s latest menu item…chicken pot pies.

roast chicken and roasted root vegetables

In the Waiting Room:  Honey Crusted Walleye

  1. chileylimon
    October 21, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Hi Karen!
    Found your blog as a fellow parsnip PR rep. I do love parsnips but I don’t think they grow well in Central Texas, where I live. I planted some anyway, and I have tini seedlings. Seeing yours makes me hopeful! Keep up the good work, I am suscribing to your blog! See mine if you want to at http://chileylimon.wordpress.com/
    Forks up from Texas!

  2. chileylimon
    October 21, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Actually, can’t find a link to subscribe to your blog…

  3. karenrocks
    October 22, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Claudia, There is a RSS feed at the top right of the page. Were you looking for email updates? I am working on getting the site more user friendly, so we will see what I can come up with. I checked our your blog – very cool! Seems like we both started this adventure at the same time…love the southwest recipes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

