Home > Main Courses, Vegetarian > Butternut Squash Ravioli

Butternut Squash Ravioli


Monday morning I almost cried in my coffee.  I was on Twitter and heard the devastating news that Gourmet magazine was going under.  Of the several cooking magazines I receive in the mail, Gourmet was the one I could always read cover to cover AND get some stellar recipes.  I especially enjoyed Barry Estabrook’s in-depth stories about food and how other issues, like human rights, are often intermingled. The topic of food encompasses more than just recipes, and I truly enjoyed how Gourmet told those stories.

Coincidentally, I had already picked out this recipe for today from the Epicurious website, a recipe catalog from both Bon Appetit and Gourmet.  To celebrate the season of squash, I picked up a curvy looking butternut from the farmers market and tried out this new-to-me recipe for Butternut Squash Ravioli.  The creamy goat cheese really pulled the filling together.  I didn’t have any hazelnuts, so I used walnuts instead, but I did use fresh sage instead of the powdered sage.  Dave was a little skeptical while I was cooking, but when he sat down and ate, he was wowed.    Rating 8/10.

butternut squash ravioli

For those of you who do read Gourmet and have a favorite recipe from its archives, please pass it on.  Maybe we can all help create a “Best of Gourmet” to honor the latest victim of the decline of print magazines.  I love the internet, don’t get me wrong.  But nothing beats the excitement of seeing a mag in your mailbox and then curling up on the couch and devouring every page.   So for now, I will add my latest issue to my collection and keep it with the other worthy survivors of the age of technology.

Added October 7 2009, 12:45pm –  Does the last quote in this Chicago Tribune article by Judy Hevrdejs sound familiar?  Yep, it’s me.  I read the online article and added my comment and it made the follow-up piece.  Thanks Ms. Hevrdejs – I am truly honored to have my thoughts represented.

  1. Kris Zimmermann
    October 8, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I saw this and thought, “Karen is awesome, making her own ravioli!” Then I noticed the recipe uses won ton wrappers, which make it seem more doable, even for me! It looks delicious with the butternut squash and the goat cheese and the sage…makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

    I love winter squash, but have a hard time finding ways preparing vegetarian meals that include squash and protein. This is an interesting recipe that I made a few times last fall/winter:

  2. karenrocks
    October 8, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I am all for making things from scratch, but homemade pasta is where I get a little hesitant. Honestly, I am partially afraid once I try it, I will have a hard time going back to dried. I do enjoy the ease/tastiness of this recipe with the won ton wrappers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

