Home > Main Courses > In this Down Economic Tide: Catfish Po’Boys

In this Down Economic Tide: Catfish Po’Boys


So I haven’t been to France, but I have been to the French Quarter.  Four times to be exact.  I have enjoyed New Orleans fine dining at big name restaurants, but more often than not, I remember the meals eaten in places that would be worthy their own HGTV remodel show.  These are the places where real people cook real food.  And not that Emeril isn’t a person, I am not denying that.  But even he will concur that some pretty killer food comes from the no-name, no-Zagat rating, so hidden of a gem that MapGuess can’t even find it.

In a city that truly sparkles with culture and cuisine, I had my first encounter with the Po’Boy.   It was a shrimp Po’Boy and the combination of crispy, juicy, crunchy, spicy made me want more, more, and more.  After I used 39 napkins to wipe off the extra seasoned mayonnaise that had made its way outside my mouth, I kept taking bite after messy bite.  I was hooked.  I don’t remember the name of the off the beaten path restaurant that provided this much need culinary enlightenment.  This was before Hurricane Katrina, as all of my visits have been.  I would like to go back and enjoy more of the city’s offerings, but life is short and there are so many other destinations I would like to experience.

I give props to Dave on this recipe, as he has mastered the art of frying fish.  Something about double coating with the batter.   I am not sure where this recipe came from, as it is written on a post-it note, like many of my recipes. 

 catfish poboy

Catfish Po’Boys
Dressing:  Mix all together, can be made ahead, just keep in fridge for no more than 1 day
2 Tbs Cajun/creole mustard
1/2 cup mayo
Juice of 1/2 lemon
Pinch of sugar
Pinch of cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to season

Breading: Mix wet ingredients in a shallow bowl, mix dry ingredients in a shallow bowl or plate. 
1 egg
1 cup milk
1 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup flour
a few dashes of cayenne, salt and pepper

2 catfish fillets
1 long french bread baguette
To make it “dressed” you can add to the sandwich
– cabbage
– lettuce
-green onion
– red onion
-pickles
-tomato

Heat 2-3 inches of oil in a cast iron or heavy pan on medium-high heat. Heat oil until hot enough that when you put a drop of water in, it really sizzles, about 370 degrees.  Take fish fillets one at a time and put in wet combo, then dry, then wet and finally dry again.   Add fish to the pan and cook for 3-4 minutes per side, only flipping once.   Remove fish from the pan and put on a plate with several pieces of paper towel.  Once it is cool enough to handle, assemble your sandwich!

Highly recommended with this meal – Lots of napkins and an ice cold Abita Beer. 

In the Hole:  Butternut Squash Ravioli

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

