Home > Vegetarian > In Defense of the Vegetable…Italian Vegetable Stew

In Defense of the Vegetable…Italian Vegetable Stew


This entry is going to be dedicated to stew.  Like making a stew, I am just going to throw a bunch of things in here and see what happens.

My husband has been gone for a few days, up north forging for food (aka fishing) and taking part in Meat-A-Rama.  He will be running in the fest’s 5K run, the Rump Roast Run.  This is not something out of The Onion; I am serious.  Apparently the major awards are beef roasts.  It is a little unnerving to see animal flesh being awarded to those that are the fastest.  A kind of Neanderthal way of rewarding those who are the leaders of the pack.  rump  Anyway, in his absence I had more time than usual to peruse my latest copy of Gourmet Magazine.  I found a very easy recipe  – Italian Vegetable Stew – more or less just throwing every ingredient from my garden (and then some) into a pot.  I have to admit, I was a little thrown due to the fact no herbs were used.  I am an herby kind of gal, but all of it came together with the veggies forming their own little union, thus proving me wrong about the need for herbage.  I give it a 7/10.

italian vegetable stew

Speaking of Gourmet Magazine, snaps go to a high school classmate of mine, Matt Vanderzalm.  His recent photographs were on the magazine’s website (not sure about whether they will be in the glossy mag).  He is a very talented individual who raises the bar for Facebook status posts.

Not even realizing that I have been on an Italian theme pretty much this whole week, I will be ending the week making insane amounts of pesto.  I usually make enough to last me the entire year, then I repeat the whole process over again.  In a way, it is a ritual that signifies the end of summer.   The vibrant green basil gives way to brown and rust colors that are slowly permeating the outdoors.  This is the recipe I have been using for years, as you can’t screw up pesto too bad.  It freezes quite well.  I put it in any type of freezer worthy container.  And I do mean any…a few years ago after having my last baby, I had some extra BRAND NEW, NEVER BEEN USED breast milk bags.  I am not one to waste much, so I went for it.  I mean, these bags are meant to be frozen and protect their contents.  It was the perfect size and storage was so much easier.  Yes, I will admit, kind of creepy, but that’s my practical side for you.

Pesto
4 cups fresh basil leaves (from about 3 large bunches)
1/2 cup olive oil
1/3 cup pine nuts
2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup freshly grated pecorino Sardo or Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
 

Combine first 4 ingredients in blender. Blend until paste forms, stopping often to push down basil. Add both cheeses and salt; blend until smooth. Transfer to small bowl. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Top with 1/2 inch olive oil and chill.)
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 30, 2010 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

