Home > Main Courses > The Sage Saga

The Sage Saga


Okay first of all, after a lengthy discussion over dinner, I have decided to re-evaluate my ratings system.  It seems that according to my husband Dave, that my rating for the peppers was too high.  It is a 1 through 10 system and I need to use the scale accordingly.   Apparently I was rating them like ice skating and giving too many high marks.  While my technical scores were on the money for the peppers, the score for overall taste was too generous.  I blame the Swiss judge on that one.  So  the new rating for the peppers is a 7.   Moving on…

I have herbs I keep in pots year round.   To clarify to those who see a blue-ish light coming out of my basement during the winter months, I have herbs in my basement…nothing else.  Anyway, my sage plant did pretty well through the winter.  But when I went to the nursery to buy some basil, parsley and other herbs, the sage plant caught my eye.  “I already have one…no….I don’t need another…but it looks so PRETTY.  I shall take it home, JUST IN CASE my other plant decides to spontaneously die”.  Well, no one died and now I have two sage plants.  What really can do you do with sage in the summer?  Not much I have found. 

But I do have one stellar recipe a la Bon Appetit Magazine, Chicken with Asiago, Prosciutto and Sage.  It cooks pretty fast, mainly because you have to pound the living snot of the chicken breasts to make it “wafer thin*”    *my term, not Bon Apps.  After you pound the chicken you just saute it in some butter and then top with the cheese and prosciutto. While it’s in the oven for a few minutes, you deglaze the pan with some white wine and fresh sage and that becomes a lip-smacking sauce that makes the chicken happy.  It’s a tasty dish for company, but realistic enough for a weeknight.  I served it with some steamed broccoli and roasted red and yellow potatoes, all from the Woodstock Farmers Market.   I enjoy that market and the people who sell there, but that’s a story for another blog.

IMG_1744

All and all, based upon the newly adapted Rocks rating system, I give this dish a 8 out of 10.  I made the Swiss judge sit this one out.

In the Hole:  Tomato Soup with Fixin’s

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

