Home > Vegetarian > Peppers…the Results Show

Peppers…the Results Show


My Ruby Red Babies

My Ruby Red Babies

Why do stuffed peppers scare people?  Are they that intimidating?  I have to admit,  I was leery on several angles.  First I was using my garden grown peppers.  After gardening for several years, this is the first year I have been able to grow peppers, let alone have them turn red.  I have been caring for them like my children and now they have grown into perfection.  And now I was going to possibly desecrate them by stuffing them full of quinoa, black beans and other veggies and bake them into the unknown?  Gulp. 

Secondly, I have gotten this recipe from the Vegetarian Times, a magazine I have recently discovered at the library.  The first recipe I tried from the mag turned out less than successful.  I made the recipe fine, but let’s just say it was a waste of good chocolate.  The only benefit from it was acquiring matzo crackers, which I have subsequently used in other recipes.

Once I finally sat down to enjoy the peppers, I actually did enjoy them.  They were a combination of different tastes and textures that all came together.  I have been trying to cram more veggie recipes down my family lately and this one will be a keeper.  My husband called it one of those meals where the more you eat of it, the better it tastes.  I guess that is a compliment.

So Kudos to Vegetarian Times for their Quinoa Stuffed Red Pepper recipe.  Easy prep, little dishes and quite tasty.  I would give it an 8/10 and make it a few times a year.  And yes, I was proud of my little red peppers and how far they had come. 

The end result

The end result

On Deck:  Chicken Breasts with Prosciutto, Sage and Asiago Cheese…my Sage plant finally gets used!

  1. Mary Jean Cravens
    September 15, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    How cool! I will definitely follow along, and ideally make a few recipes myself sometimes. :O)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

