Home > Main Courses, Vegetarian > Huevos Rancheros = Bueno…Mac-N-Cheese = No Es Bueno

Huevos Rancheros = Bueno…Mac-N-Cheese = No Es Bueno


Hi, my name is Karen and I am a cookbook junkie.  Yes, I know I have a problem and Borders has tried an intervention, but still I can’t help myself.   I could park my tush at our local library for hours and still not make a dent in their cooking section (Thank you Huntley Public Library).  It truly amazes me how many different styles of cookbooks that canvas shelves. 

After a recent visit, I picked up the Moosewood Restaurant New Classics Cookbook, a cookbook with mostly vegetarian recipes.  I think it was a good read, because I dog-eared just about every other page, looking forward to try a tasty recipe.  I guess I was so excited to try something while reading it at night, I found a breakfast dish to try. Although I could eat this anytime of the day we had this for breakfast…Huevos Rancheros.  It was a practical dish to make as well, since I had all the ingredients left over from taco night a few days prior.   The ingredients tasted so fresh and healthy, it really was good eats.  On a roll, I found myself intrigued by their Macaroni and Cheese recipe.  Especially by one ingredient: tofu.

I have to admit, I never buy tofu.  I tried it years back and could never get over the texture.  But this recipe called for the silken variety, one that has a creamy texture.   Dave’s eyes just about jumped out of his head when I said I needed to go to the store to buy some tofu for dinner.  You could tell he would be ready with that “I told you so” look, after eating his first bite. 

When I have made homemade mac-n-cheese in the past, the ingredients possessed enough fat, calories, and cholesterol that the FDA should have had a separate warning for the lethalness of the dish.  Reading this recipe though, the cheese was still there, but the heavy cream and butter were not.  Other ingredients in the dish were mustard, garlic and turmeric.  I think those were the culprits of this dish not quite working.  As much as my husband wanted to blame the tofu, we agreed he couldn’t, as it held up its role in the creaminess department.  I think I will play around with some ingredients and give this another whirl and post my findings at other time.  For now though here is a winner…

mex flag

Due to camera issues, I have no pictures of the dishes, so I thought you could just enjoy the Mexican flag instead.

 

Huevos Rancheros From Moosewood Restaurant
Serves 2
1 cup salsa
1 fresh tomato (we omitted the tomato and just used more salsa)
1 Tbs fresh cilantro
1 Tbs vegetable oil
4 corn or flour tortillas (6 inches)
4 to 8 eggs
Extras (we used all but the olives)
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/4 cup red onion or green onions
1/2 cup sliced black or green olives
1 avocado, diced
1-2 Tbs fresh cilantro

In a saucepan, warm the salsa, tomatoes and cilantro until hot but not simmering.  Keep warm on very low heat.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  In a heavy skillet on med-high heat warm a teaspoon of oil.  Add a tortilla and cook until just beginning to brown, about 30 secs.  With tongs turn over and cook for about 10 secs.  Place the tortilla on a large sheet of foil and repeat with remaining tortillas, adding more oil if needed.  Wrap the stack of tortillas and place in the oven to keep warm.
Fry the eggs in the skillet until well set on the bottom, then sprinkle with cheese (if using).  Cover the pan and cook until the eggs are set.  To serve, place a warm tortilla on each plate and top it with a fried egg and a generous portion of salsa.  Sprinkle of the extras of your choice.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment